Flashback: My Life as a Recording Engineer

In 2003, I owned a digital 8 track, an 8-channel mixer, and a computer with stereo inputs.  Much has changed, but I was getting into low budget engineering.  In August of that year, I recorded a band called the Ion Leaks.  My high school friend Paul was in the band.  Unfortunately, the band essentially broke up in my parents’ basement.  The high pressure of a “studio” where my mom made grilled cheese sandwiches will do that, I guess.  Regardless, I’ve held on to most of the recordings I made around then – I was much better at backing up files earlier in life than I am today.  On a whim, I decided to see if the near 8 year old disc with .wav files even worked.

It worked.

I will mix one or two of these tracks down for Paul’s enjoyment.  Maybe he’ll let me share one here.

Leave a Reply

