Staring at the sun

I am fascinated by light.  It is simultaneously a resource and a challenge in photography.  On Saturday, a friend and I went out to take pictures.  I showed up a half hour early, which may be a first for me.  My pre-punctuality had a price: I left my DSLR’s battery charging in my kitchen.  I walked over to Penn Camera and bought a replacement battery and asked them to start charging it.  They obliged.  I had planned on buying a spare battery, so things sort of worked out.  My friend met me at a bar where we fortified ourselves with cider and rum for the sojourn ahead.  I grabbed my new battery and we were off.  4 pm in late winter at this latitude means a steady stream of long shadows.  We found a freight train stopped to allow a passenger train to pass it.  We walked through the brutalist concrete jungle that passes for the federal government near L’Enfant Plaza.  Then, we wandered south to the water and caught the dwindling dusk light among crowds at DC’s iconic fish market.  It was a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

